



April 17, 2023

As Immediate Past Chair for Region V, I am pleased to present this opportunity for you to submit nomination(s) for the Region V Joan Howeth National Travel Award. The award provides each recipient a financial award to offset travel expenses to attend NCURA's Annual Meeting (AM) in Washington D.C. This year, AM65 will be held in person on August 6-9, 2023. The Travel Awards Committee will select an individual to receive the award based upon the quantity and quality of nominations received. Self-nominations will be accepted. Nomination packets are due by 5 p.m., central standard time, on Tuesday, May 9, 2023.

The eligibility criteria for the Joan Howeth National Travel Award are:

- 1) Nominees must currently work as a research administrator at an institution located in the Region V geographical area (Oklahoma and Texas).
- 2) Nominees should have worked in research administration for at least one year, but not more than four years from the time of award.
- 3) Not have previously attended a NCURA national annual meeting. Participation in NCURA traveling workshops (e.g., Fundamentals of Sponsored Projects Administration) or NCURA webinars does not preclude eligibility.
- 4) Nominees are NOT required to be members of NCURA at the time of nomination, but they must become members to register for the meeting. Membership fees may not be covered by the travel award.

Nominees must provide:

- 1) A written statement demonstrating:
 - a. The applicant/applicant institution's need for the award,
 - b. How the award will benefit the nominee and their home institution, and
 - c. How the award will benefit Region V.
- 2) At least one letter of support from the nominees' home institution. This letter of support must demonstrate that the applicant has secured their manager's or supervisor's approval to attend the meeting.

2023 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair: Jennifer Husmo The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

> Immediate Past Chair: Tribbie Grimm Texas A&M University

Secretary: Marilyn Bobbitt The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Treasurer Susan Hurley Sam Houston State University

At-large Members:

Lizette Gonzales The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Laura Rosales Baylor College of Medicine





If you have questions, please feel free to contact Tribbie Grimm at tgrimm@tamu.edu

Information about AM65 can be found at: https://www.ncura.edu/annualmeeting/Home.aspx

The Joan Howeth National Travel Award Nomination Form can be found at: Nomination Form

Please complete the online form and email the supporting information to me by May 9th, 2023 by **5 p.m.**, submitter's local time, with "Joan Howeth Travel Award Nomination" in the subject line of the email. If you have questions, please feel free to contact me.

Tribbie Grimm Immediate Past Chair Travel Award Committee Chair tgrimm@tamu.edu